How much does it cost to build an app in 2026? Sourced ranges and what moves the price

· By Oguz Delioglu, founder of ODEL

The most common budget for a hired app project in 2026 is 10,000 to 49,999 USD, according to Clutch's pricing guide (updated September 2026), which is built from client reviews. The same page reports an average of about 90,780 USD, but large projects pull that average up, and Clutch does not state its sample size. A small single-purpose app sits at the low end of that range; an app with accounts, a backend, payments and two platforms climbs fast.

Prices on the web conflict wildly. In a 2026 r/Entrepreneur thread, commenters quote "1-5k for standard app", while agency blogs start at five figures. Both can be true, because they describe different scope, different people and different guarantees. This guide collects the dated numbers, says who published them and shows what changes them.

What the sources say (with dates)

Source and date Type Simple or MVP Medium Complex
Clutch, updated Sept 2026 Client reviews, sample size not stated Most common: 10,000 to 49,999 USD Average: about 90,780 USD Brackets up to 200,000+ USD
GoodFirms survey, May 2022 Survey of 267 firms 12,960 to 30,240 USD 34,560 to 60,480 USD ("complex") 56,160 to 82,080 USD ("advanced")
TechnBrains, Aug 2026 Vendor estimate 15,000 to 50,000 USD 50,000 to 120,000 USD 120,000 to 300,000+ USD
Idealogic, Oct 2026 Vendor estimate 25,000 to 45,000 USD (Eastern Europe), 55,000 to 100,000 USD (US agency) 45,000 to 85,000 USD / 100,000 to 180,000 USD 85,000 to 160,000 USD / 180,000 to 350,000 USD

Read the table this way: the GoodFirms survey is old (2022) but it is a survey; the two vendor blogs are 2026 estimates from companies that sell development. Idealogic defines its simple tier as "one core workflow, 5 to 8 screens, both stores", which is a useful yardstick when you compare quotes.

For web products, the numbers are thinner. Prioxis (Sept 2026, vendor) puts a SaaS MVP with sign-in, one core workflow, a basic dashboard and one payment integration at 8,000 to 25,000 USD. We found no survey of MicroSaaS build cost at all, so any MicroSaaS figure you see is a vendor estimate.

Hourly rates, and why they disagree

Cost is hours times rate, and rate sources disagree as much as project sources:

  • Clutch (2026) shows 25 to 49 USD per hour as the typical band for iOS, Android and cross-platform firms, including firms based in the US. Many listed firms work offshore, which pulls the band down.
  • GoodFirms (2022) found an average of 60 USD per hour for economic projects and 122 USD for high-end ones.
  • Second Talent (Sept 2026) models US freelance mid-level rates at 108 to 165 USD and US agency mid-level rates at 205 to 340 USD. These are modelled from salary data, not observed prices.
  • Idealogic (2026, vendor) puts senior rates at 55 to 85 USD in Central and Eastern Europe and 150 to 220 USD at US agencies.

A low rate with many hours can cost more than a high rate with few. Ask for the estimate in hours per feature, not only a total.

What actually moves the price

These are the levers that move a project from the low bracket to the high one:

  1. A backend or none. An app that keeps data on the phone is far smaller than one with accounts, sync and a server. Our ChairBook salon app stores data locally; DishBook has an app, an API, an admin panel and a landing site, each its own codebase.
  2. One platform or two. iPhone only, Android only, or both. Cross-platform tools such as React Native share most code; a vendor claim puts the saving at about 30 to 40 percent versus two native apps (Idealogic, 2026).
  3. Payments. Subscriptions mean StoreKit or Play Billing, a paywall, restore purchases, receipt checks and App Review rules for subscriptions.
  4. Integrations. Each outside system (calendar, CRM, maps, an AI model, a hardware device) adds work and a failure point.
  5. Content and languages. Every language multiplies store listings, screenshots and text checks.
  6. Regulated data. Health, children's data and finance add design constraints and review steps. See Apple's App Review Guidelines (updated October 16, 2026).
  7. Design depth. A clean standard interface costs less than custom illustration and animation.

Costs that start after launch

The build is not the last bill:

  • Apple Developer Program: 99 USD per membership year (Apple).
  • Google Play: 25 USD one time (Google).
  • Store commissions: Apple's Small Business Program charges 15 percent for developers with up to 1 million USD in proceeds (Apple). Google changed its fees in 2026 in the US, UK, EEA, Australia and Japan: auto-renewing subscriptions now carry 10 percent plus a 5 percent billing fee there (Google Play Console Help).
  • Maintenance: vendor blogs repeat a rule of thumb of 15 to 20 percent of the build cost per year (Cleveroad, 2026; Space-O, 2026). It is a planning heuristic, not a study. More in what it costs to maintain an app after launch.
  • Hosting and services: servers, databases, email, analytics and AI API calls, if your app uses them.

How to get a quote you can trust

  • Send a written brief first. Our app brief template takes an evening to fill in.
  • Ask for the estimate split by feature, with hours, and a list of what is not included.
  • Ask whether store setup, App Review, the privacy policy, store screenshots and the first update are inside the price.
  • Ask for payment by milestone tied to working builds you can install, not by calendar.
  • Make sure the contract assigns the code to you and the app ships under your developer account. See who owns your app code and developer accounts.
  • Compare like with like: two quotes for different scope are not comparable.

Warning signs: a fixed price before anyone asked what the app does, no store apps the developer can show you, or a quote far below every range above for an app with accounts, payments and a backend.

Where ODEL fits, and where it does not

ODEL is a one-person studio that builds and publishes its own iPhone and Android apps and the Appalize SaaS. We do not publish a price list: we quote each project after a short discovery call, as a fixed quote or a phased plan, and you own the code and the store accounts. A good fit is a focused app or MVP with a clear first version, such as iOS app development, cross-platform apps or an MVP.

Not a fit: projects that need a large in-house team, 24/7 on-site support, certified vendors for regulated systems, or big enterprise integrations on a fixed short deadline. An agency is the better choice there. If an existing booking or invoicing tool already does the job, use it and skip the build. If you want a number for your own idea, send a short brief.